Indian Ocean Island Games

National football squad announced for Indian Ocean Island Games

The squad of the Maldives National Football Team has been announced for Indian Ocean Island Games 2019 held in Mauritius 16 to 27 July.

Football Association of Maldives (FAM) announced the list today stating that two members of the squad will be leaving for Mauritius tomorrow.

The national squad consists of:

  • Ibrahim Labaan Shareef, Mohamed Mamdhooh, Yameen and Mohamed Saif from Club Green Street.
  • Hussain Shifaau Yousuf, Ahmed Numan, Ali Faris, Ahmed Rizwan, Mohamed Naaim and Haisham Hassan from Club Eagles.
  • Hussain Nihan, Ibrahim Mahudhee Hussain, Hamza Mohamed, Hassan Naazi, Ibrahim Waheed Hassan, Hussain Shareef and Mujuthaz Mohamed from Maziya Sports.
  • Mohamed Jailam from Foakaidhoo Football Club.
  • Ibrahim Aisam from TC Sports.
  • Mohamed Faisal from DA Grand Sports Club.

While the team is set to leave for Mauritius tomorrow, they will be returning on 28 July. The Maldives is in Group B in the tournament with Reunion Islands, Mayotte and Comoro. Group A consists of Mauritius, Seychelles and Madagascar.