Solar power systems to be established in 20 islands

Ministry of Finance is seeking interested parties to establish solar power systems in 20 islands.

The project is being run under Asian Development Bank (ADB) 'Accelerating Sustainable System Development Using Renewable Energy' (ASSURE).

According to an announcement by the Ministry, the project is going to be run on a design-and-build basis. Under this, 20 megawatt grid-tied solar photovoltaic systems will be established in 20 different islands.

These islands include; Haa Alif Dhihdhoo, Haa Dhaalu Hanimadhoo, Shaviyani Milandhoo, Noonu Manadhoo, Noonu Holhudhoo, Noonu Velidhoo, Baa Dharavandhoo, Baa Thulhaadhoo, Raa Alifushi, Raa Hulhudhuffaaru, Meemu Muli, Meemu Veyvah, Meemu Raiymandhoo, Faafu Nilandhoo. Thaa Guraidhoo, Thaa Thimarafushi, Gaafu Alif Maamendhoo, Gaafu Dhaalu Gahdhoo, and Gaafu Dhaalu Faresmaathodaa.

Bids for the project are open for submissions by August 14th. USD 700,000 or MVR 7.6 million is required for the bid security of this project.