Pakistan: Raja Pervez Ashraf elected as National Assembly Speaker

Former Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf has been elected the new National Assembly (NA) Speaker this Saturday.

Ashraf took oath of office as the 22nd NA Speaker unopposed with no other submissions for nomination for Speaker.

Meanwhile, PTI leader Qasim Suri resigned as Deputy Speaker hours before a no-confidence motion was scheduled to be put to vote. Suri shared his resignation letter on Twitter stating his Party will never compromise on Pakistan's sovereignty and integrity.

Qasim Suri tweets copy of resignation letter

Ashraf thanked his Party leaders, Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, and assembly members following his oath of office. He was congratulated by Prime Minister Sharif and PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari while speaking at the assembly.